From 06/24/2022 to 09/04/2022
Reino Unido

The Show is Over brings together sixteen international artists in a major group exhibition at the South London Gallery. The artists’ work proposes a refreshed language in the interpretation of political histories and personal experiences connected to the aftermath of historical violence, and its present iterations.


The work shown in the exhibition underscores the various ways in which we relate to and grapple with notions of loss, threats to the environment, spirituality, labour and silenced histories. As the world begins to unevenly emerge from the pandemic, The Show is Over becomes a stage from which the performance and understandings of endings are constantly evolving and more present than ever before.

In the words of the curator, Gabi Ngcobo: “The end of the world has become an event developing over time. With the end of time being a constant thought, our own mortality and self-preservation take centre stage. Despite this, humanity is confronted with extraordinary loss. Mourning is prevalent and complex. Spirituality, memory, imagination and self-reflection have become important for many. Facing the fragility and vulnerability of the human condition, prolonged grieving prompts us to reflect and reconnect. We have had to learn new grammar and language in order to live again, dream again and in order to contain loss, again. The Show is Over is a contribution to a search for new vocabulary. The exhibition features voices of artists who, as part of their life practices, reflect on these questions, often with recurring inquiries into the possibility of living differently with others.”

The Show is Over is curated by Gabi Ngcobo, Curatorial Director at the Javett Art Centre at the University of Pretoria (Javett-UP) in dialogue with Oscar Murillo, who exhibited at the South London Gallery in 2013.

Artists involved include: Karimah Ashadu, Simnikiwe Buhlungu, Anawana Haloba, Banele Khoza, Donna Kukama, Moshekwa Langa, Tessa Mars, Misheck Masamvu, Santu Mofokeng, Santiago Mostyn, Oscar Murillo, Las Nietas de Nonó, Ishkar Richard, Mmakgabo Helen Sebidi, and Luana Vitra.