Summer camps and full artist list announced for Mediacity Seoul 2016

Mediacity Seoul 2016 NERIRI KIRURU HARARA will be hosting two summer camps, preliminary to and also extending into the biennale exhibition.

Summer camps and full artist list announced for Mediacity Seoul 2016

The Village, organized by artist Yang Ah Ham, is a temporary village run by a community of visual art educators and artists. Carefully examining the idea of creativity and learning, The Village experiments on communal living and social systems which may survive in the contemporary state of anxiety and vulnerability. The learning process of the summer camp will occupy the south branch of SeMA, a former Belgium Embassy building constructed before World War I, for three full weeks of August. Invited individuals include Pascal Gielen, Marianne Flotron, Huang Chien-Hung, Saša Karalić, Byung Jun Kwon, So Hyun Park, Kyung Ae Ro, Keiko Sei and Hank Slager. The application starts on July 4 through the new website of Mediacity Seoul 2016.

The north branch of SeMA will house Taeyoon Choi's Uncertainty School which explores the potentialities that cannot be expressed with the language of the world of certainties. Focusing on the relationship among contemporary art, technology and disability, the summer camp invites artists with disabilities and others who work with minorities. As a community of artists, teachers, students and organizers, the school will challenge the hegemony of normalcies, and learn to embrace interdependence. The program will be composed of a series of workshops, seminars and a group exhibition, which will take place from mid-August.

In line with the biennale exhibition, both summer camps will be recalibrated into an exhibition format and a series of programs; the participants will be encouraged to create and host their own public programs during exhibition period.


Mediacity Seoul 2016 will invite 61 artists/teams to its exhibition which will run from September 1 till November 20 in all three branches of Seoul Museum of Art.

Participating artists: Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Chantal Akerman, Mounira Al Solh, Minwook An, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Je Baak, Sonja Bäumel, Bik Van der Pol, Dineo Seshee Bopape, Jeamin Cha, Taeyoon Choi, Venzha Christ, Community Space Litmus, Jonathas de Andrade, Ahmad Ghossein, Gim Ik Hyun, João Maria Gusmão + Pedro Paiva, Yang Ah Ham, Han Mook, Sara Hendren, Norimichi Hirakawa, Hong Seung-Hye, Marguerite Humeau, Pierre Huyghe, Suk Joon Jang, Joo Hwang, E Roon Kang & Achim Koh & Wonyoung So, Nina Katchadourian, Christine Sun Kim, Kim Heecheon, Kim Jiyeong, Joohyun Kim, Oksun Kim, Sylbee Kim, Koo Soohyun, Oliver Laric, Mire Lee, Kemang Wa Lehulere, Lawrence Lek, Duane Linklater, Tiago Mata Machado, Nicholas Mangan, Cinthia Marcelle, Ursula Mayer, Soichiro Mihara, Zanele Muholi, Munhwasallong-Gong, Nastivicious, Eduardo Navarro, Iván Navarro, Natacha Nisic, Part-time Suite, robbinschilds + A.L. Steiner, Ugo Rondinone, Ben Russell, Carolee Schneemann, Talking Misul (Talking Art), Akihiko Taniguchi, Zhou Tao, White Stork Nest, Jane and Louise Wilson.